Afternoon Tea in Victoria at the Empress Hotel

I recently had the pleasure of enjoying Afternoon Tea at the Empress Hotel in Victoria. For more information about this I would recommend taking a look at their website. It is a bit pricy but I decided to go ahead and treat myself! The atmosphere is wonderful and I must say that I felt very fancy! It was a little intimidating at first, but I got more comfortable as soon as I was poured my first cup of “Empress Blend” tea. I’m not really an expert on black teas as I don’t drink them often, but I found the blend to be very pleasant, smooth and soothing, and perfectly complimentary to the food.

They also accommodate certain dietary restrictions such as vegan, vegetarian, and gluten free. I tried the vegetarian option. First I was served strawberries dipped in chocolate, followed by many more goodies including sandwiches (hummus, cucumber, egg salad) and an unbelievably buttery scone. There were also cranberry chocolates, ginger shortbread, and cheesecake dipped in white chocolate. Talk about decadent!

I had a lovely experience and I will certainly be back. I would recommend having Afternoon Tea with a friend. While it’s nice to sit back and relax with a cup on your own I think that chatting with a friend over a couple of pots of tea and snacks would be a wonderful way to spend the afternoon.

While I was in Victoria I also took the time to look at all of the beautiful lights. Getting into the holiday spirit with some hot tea on a chilly night and enjoying the sights!

-S

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Afternoon Tea in Victoria at the Empress Hotel

  1. Pingback: Tea Party! | Leaves in Water

Leave a comment